I love bulbs,corms and tubers -I love the way that something beautiful and colourful comes out of the most unpromising  looking brown or crispy packaging .How they are self contained to bide their time waiting for the right conditions  and have stored all the nutrients they need to flower laying down next years as their leaves die down .

I like to choose them at  the garden centre  or from  a catalogue , looking at the pictures on the box or packet assessing the conditions they would like looking forward to seeing them adding to my own garden display 

As you can imagine  having heavy clay soil doesn’t make life easy for bulbs and the like .They wont like sitting around in cold wet soil for longer than is necessary .You could line the base of the planting  hole with a bit of grit but I don’t think it makes an awful lot of difference in my soil. I sometimes put them in pots which solves the whole problem  My new  tulips have been great ones like Triumphator ,Spring green and white parrot tulips (fringed)growing in the garden they last one year and I replace them the next !

 

